• Increase Font
  • Decrease Font
  • Print

Recognition in other states

Have your accreditation recognised in another State

The Law Societies in each jurisdiction have worked together to develop a framework for a national mutual recognition policy that enables practitioners to have their accreditation gained in one State recognised in another State in certain circumstances.

Gaining mutual recognition may enable specialists who work in more than one State to maximise the opportunity to promote the services they offer.

If you have moved inter-state with your firm, or are currently required to service clients in more than one State, you may be eligible to have your accreditation recognised both here in NSW and in the second State in which you are practising.

The Specialist Accreditation Mutual Recognition Policy has been designed to cater for legal practitioners who:

  1. practise in a location close to a border and who are likely to draw clients from both States,
  2. practise in two or more States and who deal with clients from those States, and
  3. relocate their practice to a State different to that of their original accreditation.

For more information on how the mutual recognition policy may apply to you, please contact the Specialist Accreditation Scheme by emailing specialists@lawsociety.com.au


  • Specialist Accreditation Program
  • The Law Society of NSW
  • 170 Phillip Street
  • Sydney NSW 2000
  • DX 362 Sydney
  • T: (02) 9926 0305
  • F: (02) 9926 0166
  • E: specialists@lawsociety.com.au