

# **NOTICE OF FORTHCOMING ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS – 2024**

15 August 2024

### **Retirement of Councillors**

The following seven Councillors are due to retire as Councillors at the Annual General Meeting of The Law Society of New South Wales which will be held at **4.00pm on Thursday 24 October 2024**:

**City Councillor** SYLVIA FERNANDEZ

Country Councillor CASSANDRA BANKS

Government Councillor BRETT MCGRATH

Corporate Councillor MARY MACKEN

Councillors (3)
DANIELLE CAPTAIN-WEBB
JACQUELINE DAWSON
REBEKAH HUNTER

All of the retiring Councillors except Ms Cassandra Banks are eligible to stand for re-election. Ms Cassandra Banks' tenure on the Council will have reached nine (9) consecutive years as at the 2024 Annual General Meeting. As such she is not eligible to stand for election at this Annual General Meeting. As Immediate Past President, she remains a member of Council ex-officio until 31 December 2024. Mr Brett McGrath is eligible to stand for re-election, however as President he is not required to, as he remains a member of Council exofficio and will become Immediate Past President on 1 January 2025.

The following Councillors resigned from the Council during 2024:

**Councillor**JENNIFER WONG

Young Lawyer Councillor OLIVIA IRVINE Following the 2022 review of the composition and governance of the Law Society Council, members adopted an amended Law Society Constitution at the 2022 Annual General Meeting. The amended Constitution requires that the Council includes 1 City Councillor, 1 Suburban Councillor, 1 Country Councillor, 1 Corporate Councillor, 1 Government Councillor, 1 Large Firm Councillor, 1 Young Lawyer Councillor and 8 unreserved Councillors and, in accordance with clause 12.1.1, any Senior Office Bearer whose elected term of office has expired.

Up until the 2022 amendments, the Constitution required that the Council included 2 Councillors from each of the City, Suburban, Country, Corporate, Government and Large Firm segments. To give effect to the transition, clause 3.2 of the amended Constitution provides that the first of each two Reserved Positions to become vacant will be permanently removed (Transitional Provisions).

Taking into consideration the Transitional Provisions, in 2024 **FIVE** vacancies created by the above retirees are to be filled by a process of election of *I x Government Councillor*, *I x City Councillor and 3 x Unreserved Councillors*. Each of these positions is for a 3-year term. A **SIXTH** vacancy is to be filled by a process of election of *I x Councillor* for a two-year term to fill the casual vacancy created by the resignation of Councillor Jennifer Wong. A **SEVENTH** vacancy is to be filled by the appointment of the Young Lawyer Councillor for a 1-year term in accordance with clause 12.1.2 of the Law Society's Constitution.





# Nomination of Solicitor Members for election to Council

A completed Nomination Form for election to positions on the Council and a completed Candidate Information Form, each in the required form, must be received by the Company Secretary of the Law Society **not later than 4.00pm on Monday 16 September 2024**.

Nominees are invited to submit, at their earliest opportunity and not later than 4.00pm on Monday 16 September 2024, biographical detail (limit 100 words) and a recent portrait photograph. The biographical detail and photograph will be included with the voting instructions forwarded to all Solicitor Members.

## **Voting**

Members are advised that, for the 2024 Council Election, members will only receive a printed ballot paper together with hard copy voting instructions if they have requested them by submitting the form made available. Members who have a unique email address recorded with the Law Society (i.e. members who

receive emails from the Law Society to a personalised email account) will again be forwarded an invitation to vote electronically. Members are encouraged to vote electronically. Please note, members without a unique email address recorded with the Law Society will receive a hard copy ballot paper and voting instructions regardless of whether they have opted in for hard copies.

The ballot will close at **2.00pm on Monday 21 October 2024**. The Company Secretary shall declare the candidates elected to fill vacancies and the votes received by each candidate at the Annual General Meeting to be held at 4.00pm on Thursday 24 October 2024. Details will also be published following the Annual General Meeting.

A Nomination Form, a Candidate Information Form, an outline of the requirements relating to biographical material and information about the responsibilities of Council membership may be obtained from:

#### **Company Secretary**

The Law Society of New South Wales 170 Phillip Street, Sydney 2000

Phone: (02) 9926 0213

Email: secretary@lawsociety.com.au

