• Increase Font
  • Decrease Font
  • Print

Frequently Asked Questions

What were the themes covered by the FLIP commission of inquiry?

  • May 13 & 20 - Drivers of change: Clients' needs & expectations
  • June 21 & 30 - Drivers of change: Technology
  • July 7 & 28 - New ways of working
  • August 22 & 29 - Legal education, information systems and training
  • September 7 & 29 - Community needs, courts and funding
  • October 19 & 28 - Diversity, new processes and managing change
  • November 16 - Globalisation
  • November 23 - Regulation

See Future Committee Terms of Reference for a full list of themes to be considered by the commission.

How was the FLIP project team structured?

An executive, a committee and panel of experts comprise the FLIP team. LSNSW President and commission chair, Gary Ulman, deputy chair, Pauline Wright, and strategic policy lawyer, Lana Nadj, comprise the executive.

A list of the members of the committee is available here. At present the committee meets monthly, but may meet more or less frequently as needed. Terms of Reference guide the committee.

A panel of experts will comprise a select number of individuals who agree to contribute their ideas to the FLIP project. Their role will be to identify gaps in knowledge, ask questions and make recommendations. Panelists may help the executive to formulate questions for committee members sitting as the commission in session.

What is the Future Committee?

Together with an executive and a panel of experts, the Future Committee leads the FLIP project. The committee is chaired by Law Society of New South Wales President, Gary Ulman. A list of the members of the committee is available here. At present the committee meets monthly and is guided by its Terms of Reference.

At various times, individual committee members act as commissioners on the FLIP commission of inquiry.

The Future Committee will report to the governing council of the Law Society of New South Wales in mid-February, 2017.